Nitin Tomar made history on the day one of Pro Kabaddi League 2017 auction becoming the most expensive player to be purchased in the league’s short history.

The raider was bought by the one of the league’s expansion teams – the GMR owned Team Uttar Pradesh for 93 lakhs in the process surpassing fellow raider Rohit Kumar, who was selected by Bengaluru Bulls for 81 lakhs. Nitin was part of the Puneri Paltan in the previous season of the league.

When Manjeet Chhillar was picked up by Abhishek Bacchhan co-owner of Jaipur Pink Panthers for 75 lakhs, it was expected to be the highest amount paid in the auction but to everybody’s surprise the 22-year was picked up by Team UP.

The bid for Tomar instigated a furious scramble between Team Uttar Pradesh and Telegu Titans which was eventually won by the GMR-owned Team Uttar Pradesh. With some of the bigger names throughout the past four seasons of the tournament either being retained or picked as priority players, the onus was on the franchises to effectively utilize the remaining purse amount of Rs. 4 crore to build a perfect team composition to compete in this season, which is going to be bigger and better than any of the previous ones. Teams were mostly looking to pursue all-round players to get the most value for their money.

Tomar’s price was also a whole 40 lakhs more than the price of the previous highest paid player in the league’s history Mohit Chhillar, who went for 53 lakhs to Bengaluru Bulls. This year Mohit was purchased by the new Haryana franchise for 47 lakhs, six lakhs fewer than his previous amount.

The most expensive foreign player selected in the auction was Iran’s Abozar Mohajermighani, who was one of the five Iranians picked up in the auction. Meanwhile, two players each from Korea and Bangladesh were bought and Japan and Thailand had one player each. However, there were no suitors for 10 Pakistani players who were in the fray to bid.

The auction will continue on Tuesday where Category B and C players would be auctioned for along with those that were sent to the reserves category.

Here is the list of some of the other players who were selected in last night’s auction :

Rohit Kumar (Bengaluru Bulls) – 81 lakhs

Manjeet Chillar (Jaipur Pink Panthers) – 75.50 lakhs

Selvamani K (Jaipur Pink Panthers) – 73 lakhs

Surjeet Singh (Bengal Warriors) – 73 lakhs

Rajesh Narwal (UP) – 69 lakhs

Sandeep Narwal (Puneri Paltan) – 66 lakhs

Amit Hooda (Tamil Nadu) – 63 lakhs

Jeeva Kumar (UP) – 52 lakhs

Jasvir Singh (Jaipur Pink Panthers) — 51 lakhs

Ravinder Pahal (Bengaluru Bulls) – 50 lakhs

Ajay (Bengaluru Bulls) – 48.50 lakhs

Kashiling Adake (U Mumba) – 48 lakhs

Ran Singh (Bengal Warriors) — 47.50 lakhs

Mohit Chillar (Haryana) – 46.50 lakhs