It was a day of contrasting wins at the 7th Senior National Hockey Championship 2017 (Men) B Division on Wednesday. Hockey Maharashtra, Central Reserve Police Force and Central Industrial Security Force all secured their consecutive wins in the tournament.

Hockey Maharashtra registered an emphatic 9-0 victory over Hockey Rajasthan while CRPF scored a 3-1 win over Delhi Hockey. CISF were made to toil by Hockey Coorg for the most part but eventually came out the victors by scoring an early goal in their victory.

The match between Maharashtra and Rajasthan was a severely lopsided affair where Maharashtra kept on piling the pressure on Rajasthan by scoring goals at regular intervals in their Pool A match. Rajasthan were left gasping trying to match Maharashtra’s pace and attain some ball possession in the 70-minute clash at the Major Dhyanchand Stadium.

Akshay Jadhav and Pratap both scored a brace in their team’s route of Rajasthan with Jadhav opening the scoring in the 11th minute. Pratap Shinde scored his brace in the first half and Jatinder Singh, Ajit Shinde, Sanjay Toppo, Aniket Gurav and Gaurav Nimbolkar chipped in with the rest of the goals.

The scenario was not any different in the day’s second game between CRPF and Delhi. Jayant Tirkey scored consecutive goals in the opening exchanges of the game, one in the 7th minute and the other in the 13th minute. Ignacious Toppo tripled the advantage of CRPF by accurately converting on a penalty corner.

Delhi, led by skipper Vijay Kumar Maurya, turned up the switch and played some attacking hockey in the second half. They could have leveled the score at least if they could have been more clinical inside the opposition’s striking circle. Their efforts, however, did not go completely in vain as they were able to pull back a consolatory goal through Maurya’s conversion of a penalty corner to make it a 3-1 win for CRPF.

Read: Once again Sports ministry nominates Dhyan Chand for Bharat Ratna

In Pool C, CISF and Coorg had probably the most competitive match of the day as they battled in a fast-paced, action-filled encounter. Niraj Yadav’s sixth minute effort turned out to be the lone goal from the match. Coorg tried to make a comeback in the fourth quarter by launching some blistering attacking runs but CISF defenders were resolute enough to deny their opponents to square things up and they maintained their slender advantage to emerge victorious.