The much-awaited final of National Badminton Championship has come to an end, resulting World number 11 HS Prannoy clinching the National title. He defeated world no. 2 Kidambi Srikanth to win the 2017 Senior National Badminton Championship men’s singles title.

Both Prannoy and Srikanth attained one out of the first two rounds 21-15, 16-21. However, Prannoy cleanly swept away the third round 21-7 leading to his triumph over Arjuna Awardee Srikanth.
Related image
This time, Prannoy was careful enough to stay strong in the third round unlike the French Open Super Series, when after leveling in the first two rounds of the semi-finals, Srikanth defeated him in the third.
In today’s final, Prannoy took a lead of 8 by the first half then maintain the pace by winning the round with a difference of 14 points.
Related image
World No. 11, Saina Nehwal defeated world no.2 PV Sindhu to clinch the women’s singles final. This is the first time that they faced each other in the national championship. Saina outplayed in both the sets of the game (21-17, 27-25 ). to lift her third nationals title. Saina has played the nationals three times and she has won the title everytime.