Hockey India has finally announced their much awaited Men’s Hockey Squad for the prestigious Gold Coast 2018 XXI Commonwealth Games which will begin from April 4. The 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team will represent the nation during the XXI Commonwealth Games which are scheduled to take place in Gold Coast, Queensland,  Australia next month.

Hockey India

Indian team would be in Pool B and they will be having Pakistan, Malaysia, Wales, England to face in their group. The tournament is going to be an exciting venture for the Indian team with their first match being expected to be a thriller as it against their arch-rivals Pakistan on April 7.

2014 Commonwealth Games Results

As far as the previous XX Commonwealth Games Results is concerned, India won the Silver medal in the prestigious tournament. Australia, the champions of the tournament handed over a defeat by 4-0 to India in the final match, however, this year, the tournament once again opens an opportunity to clinch Gold.

Men’s Hockey Team clinched the Jury’s choice ‘Team of the Year’ at TOISA 2018

The current Indian Men’s Hockey Squad is well-built and holds the potential to surpass every other team at this year’s  Commonwealth Games. However, Australia again could be a hard rock to break.

Captain and Vice Captain


All the 18 players are named by the Hockey Indian association and on the back of the previous successes, Manpreet Singh will once again lead the Indian Men’s Hockey Squad with Chinglensana Singh Kangujam in first support as the Vice Captain.

Manpreet Singh has proved his worth as the captain of the Indian Hockey Team multiple times namely winning the Asia Cup 2017, followed by a Bronze Medal feat at the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017.

Defenders – Forwards


India’s defense walls will be formed with players like Freeman and drag-flick expert Rupinder Pal Singh, accompanied by Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Kothajit Singh, Gurinder Singh and Amit Rohidas.

Moreover, the team has picked experienced goalkeeper PR Sreejesh to guard the goalpost as he shown an impressive gameplay in his comeback during the New Zealand Tour. Suraj Kakera is chosen as the backup option for Sreejesh and there is no doubt on his goalkeeping abilities as well.

The midfield will be handled by skipper Manpreet Singh in the lead role, supported by the experienced Chinglensana alongside Sumit and Vivek Sagar Prasad.

The forward of the Indian Men’s Hockey Team is in the hands of SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Gurjant Singh, and Dilpreet Singh.

Coach’s Remark

The present chief coach of Indian Men’s Hockey Team gave his comments on the basis of selection of players for the Commonwealth tournament. According to him, players past performances is the reason behind their selection in the Indian Squad.

“This team has been picked keeping in mind the team’s performance in the previous tournaments since the Asia Cup 2017. We have tried out different combinations in the past events and we believe this will be the most effective combination for the Gold Coast 2018 XXI Commonwealth Games,” said Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne.

To sum up, let’s see the 18-Member Indian Men’s Team For The Gold Coast 2018 XXI Commonwealth Games which is as follows:


1. Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran

2.  Suraj Karkera


3.  Rupinder Pal Singh

4.  Harmanpreet Singh

5.  Varun Kumar

6.  Kothajit Singh Kadangbam

7.  Gurinder Singh

8.  Amit Rohidas


9.    Manpreet Singh(C)

10.  Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (VC)

11.  Sumit

12.  Vivek Sagar Prasad


13. Akashdeep Singh

14. Sunil Sowmarpet Vitalacharya

15. Gurjant Singh

16. Mandeep Singh

17. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay

18. Dilpreet Singh